The Info on Infographics

A few weeks ago I received a job posting entitled “Infographic Designer (Freelance).” I thought I had read it wrong because, as naive as it sounds, I had never heard of the term infographics. The job description didn’t give me too much insight, which makes sense since if you don’t know what infographics is then you’re probably not right for this job. Before I Googled it, I took a second to think of what it could be. Obviously, the name does say it all. But I started to wonder if perhaps I knew what this term meant and just didn’t realize it had a label.

The first thought that popped into my head was the website We Feel Fine.

It’s an exploration of human emotion. It “continually harvests sentences containing the phrase “I feel” or “I am feeling” from the Internet’s newly posted blog entries, saves them in a database, and displays them in an interactive Java applet, which runs in a web browser. Each dot represents a single person’s feeling. The color of each dot corresponds to the type of feeling it represents (bright dots are happy, dark dots are sad), and the diameter of each dot indicates the length of the sentence inside.”  I’m not sure what made me think of this site – probably because it had received a lot of press and was an interesting creation. But after I did eventually Google the term, I realized that We Feel Fine was quite possibly the simplest form of an infographic. The only visual indications were size, color and frequency. No numbers, no words, no percentages – all of that was embedded in this interesting and colorful graphic.

My search for infographics pulled up a plethora of results. There were websites that listed them by creativity, uniqueness,usefulness and other classifications. What I learned was that they’re nothing more than creative graphs, PowerPoint presentations on steroids. Albeit, they’re done very creatively, and actually contain much more complex information than you would ever want to squeeze into a PPT deck. But all in all, they’re simply cool looking graphs. Yet, creating an infographic does require creativity and planning. This site gives an anatomical look at one and also outlines how to go about building it.

And if you’re in the mood for some eye candy, here are some examples as well as list of sites that feature more beautiful infographics.

Marian Bantjes: influence map

Leave a Reply

