Veer’s 5-7-5 Contest

A few weeks ago, I was reading a post on my friend Neisha Tweed’s blog Baby Food for Creatives about Veer’s Font Haiku contest. They’ve been running it since September and it’s open to all until the end of the year. You just need to have a Veer account (which is free), and have Twitter. Then you can browse hundreds of fonts, pick one, write a haiku about it, then tweet it with #veerfonts. There are weekly, monthly and one grand prize winner. Weekly winners get their choice of a Veer t-shirt, a Helvetica CD and their haiku set in the font by their designer. Monthly winners get $250 in Veer merch. And the grand prize winner gets a coveted iPad.

Typography is definitely my favorite type of art, so I was more than happy to search their fonts and find one I liked. However, I don’t think I’ve ever written a haiku past my 9th grade Literature class, so I had to look up the definition of what it was to help refresh my memory. (It’s “a major form of Japanese verse, written in 17 syllables divided into 3 lines of 5, 7, and 5.”) I decided to put my copywriting skills to work  give it a shot. I ended up submitting a handful of haikus over the course of a week, and my hard work paid off when I found out that I was a weekly winner.

I chose Yana because the name immediately reminded me of high school, where a good percentage of kids were Russian and from Brighton Beach, Bklyn. Yana was a very common name among the girls and it inspired me to write this.

Leave a Reply

