Weight Watchers New ‘Point’ System

As much as I love ice cream, I know it’s not good for me. So when I indulge in it (the good stuff, like Ben and Jerry’s or Haagen Daz), I try to do so sparingly. But for all those other times when I’m craving it, I try to buy something low-fat, like Weight Watchers’ Dark Chocolate Raspberry Ice Cream Bars. When I first tried one of these, I liked it a lot and continued buying them for the last 2 or so months. But eventually, like everything one consumes too much of, you start to get tired of it. That’s when I saw the English Toffee Crunch Bars in the freezer and decided to give them a shot. I like toffee and it seemed like a good alternative to the dark chocolate overload.

I don’t follow WW myself, but I’m aware of their popular Points System, where everything you eat is assigned a point. Which is why I was surprised to learn that the English Toffee Crunch bars had 3 points and not just 1. See, while I was enjoying my ice cream, letting it melt into oblivion, I felt something scratch the side of my mouth. When I pulled the stick out, I noticed that the end of the wood (the part that was in the ice cream) had a small chunk missing. I was certain it didn’t fall off in my mouth (or that I didn’t bite it off), and upon closer inspection it appeared that the missing piece had burnt off, leaving what almost looked like a small, and pointy, hook.

I’m not quite sure how this happened (it was likely something mechanical and not a pyro maniac), and I haven’t contacted WW about it (though maybe I should). I thought perhaps this was their new Point System, where you lose weight by not being able to eat because you have a large gash inside your mouth. That actually sounds a lot easier to manage than adding and subtracting points. Hey, if that’s their new marketing ploy, maybe I will reconsider joining WW after all.

Burnt stick from WW English Toffee Crunch Bar

Leave a Reply

