45th Parallel

While driving up to Mackinac Island from Lansing, MI I passed the 45th Parallel sign (a circle of latitude that is 45 degrees north of the Earth’s equatorial plane – half way between the Equator and the North Pole. It crosses Europe, Asia, the Pacific Ocean, North America and he Atlantic Ocean.) I didn’t take a picture of it because it happened so suddenly. But on my way back, I made sure to have my camera ready. Technically, because the Earth isn’t a perfect sphere, the halfway point is 10 miles north of the sign , so I’m not exactly sure why they didn’t just put it there. Chances are, I did pass the real point, 10 miles north on Route 127. Either way, though, I thought it was a really cool thing to see.

A highway sign along Route 127 in Michigan indicating the 45th Parallel - the latitude point halfway between the Equator and North Pole

Leave a Reply

